This was definitely an interesting book. It’s anthology (which I didn’t know when I put it on hold), edited by Krista Jacob. It turned out to include an essay by Jennifer Baumgardner, the authour of Look Both Ways, which I only recently read. It’s about the movement inside the pro-choice (pro-reproductive rights/pro-reproductive justice/etc) movement to include all voices. There were stories ranging from women who had abortions and felt no guilt to those who suffered profound emotional pain. It also exposed pro-choice people who also believe life begins at conception, and the concerns that the pro-choice movement is far too middle-class/white -centric. But all of the contributors are still pro-choice, proving you don’t need to conform to a single set of beliefs and experiences to belong to the movement. Very thought-provoking. I think this is a really valuable book to anyone curious about reproductive rights.

So, I got a $10 gift card, along with every other Chapters/Coles/Indigo employee, for putting up with customer’s American/Canadian difference attacks. Honestly, I don’t care how pissed off you are about it, if you harass the bookstore employees about it YOU ARE AN ASS. The majority of customers mention it. /The majority/. I have heard this way too many times before. I don’t make the rules. If you want to pay the American price, we’re near the border, go ahead and buy your books there. I don’t get paid on commission. Sigh. Anyways, we also got an Employee Appreciation Day on Friday because of it, which meant we got an extra 10% off, 40% in all. So I used the gift card and discount to get BFG and Matilda by Roald Dahl. I love kids books, and Dahl is a genius. I read (re-read? I’m not sure if I read it before) Matilda yesterday and adored it, of course. Now I’m going to go watch the movie on Youtube.

