So, I read the Dirk Gently books. It’s definitely Douglas Adams style, but I liked the Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy better. Still, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency was excellent! I kept reading parts of it out loud to my mom or A., even though they didn’t seem quite as interested as me. It was delightfully absurd, and definitely compared to The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, even if I didn’t like it quite as much. One kinda troubling thing was the blatant spelling and grammatical errors it had. I’m not sure why that would be… I mean, at one point it had “tjat” instead of “that”. Weird. Other than that, I loved if, even if I didn’t quite follow the poem part of it.

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul I didn’t like as much. Which is strange, since I’ve seen a few reviews now which swear it’s his best work. I mean, I’d say this one was fine… but not fantastic. I didn’t notice any grammatical errors in this one, but the story just didn’t grab me as much. Maybe it’s because I don’t know a whole lot about Norse mythology, I don’t know. Or maybe it just warrants a re-read, since I didn’t really follow all of it. I just didn’t find myself wanting to read out any of this book. Oh well, it was still interesting.

Now I’m reading The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks. I’ve also got Abortion Under Attack (an impulse hold) waiting for me at the library. I’ll pick it up tomorrow. After those I’m back to Douglas Adams: re-reading the HHGttG trilogy of five, Salmon of Doubt and the original radio scripts of Life, the Universe, and Everything; So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish; and Mostly Harmless.

