I just saw this meme on Becky’s Book Blog and, being seventeen, felt highly qualified to answer it.

Ender’s Game/Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card. Who doesn’t love this book? I think I found Ender’s Shadow in a grocery store when I was about twelve or thirteen. I hadn’t heard of it or Ender’s Game before. So I actually read Ender’s Shadow before Ender’s Game, and I’m sort of glad I did, because that way I got to appreciate both books, instead of being disappointed by Ender’s Shadow. I re-read Ender’s Game again recently and still love it. Highly recommended. I haven’t read any of his other stuff yet, though. I tried when I was younger and couldn’t get through Speaker of the Dead, but I’m going to try it again soon.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Yes, I know this is a kid’s book, but I adore it. I re-read it a couple years ago and cried. I love fairy tales. The Two Princesses book I loved, too, and I have another one of hers on Mt TBR.

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. I was first in line at Bolen Books, in costume, to get the last book. Looking back, the writing isn’t perfect, and it isn’t always consistent in the facts, and sometimes there are convenient plot devices, but I still like the story, and I definitely loved it when I was younger. Besides, this series may not have introduced me to reading, but it was the first series I got into, and the longest book I read. So I’m no longer intimidated by series or lengthy books. At least, not as much. I’ll re-read the series again eventually. (I’ve only read the last book once).

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Pure fun. I plan to re-read it very soon. I watched the movie first, and loved it, so I needed to read the book. Then, of course, I read the books and realized the movie was crap in comparison. I’ve bought a few more Douglas Adams books and can’t wait to read them.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I barely remember this boo, except that I loved it. I plan to re-read eventually, and A Thousand Splendid Suns is still on Mt TBR.

And so many more! Holes by Louis Sachar (for kids, but still), The Giver by Lois Lowry (again, for kids), Feed by M.T. Anderson.

And let’s not forget the non-fiction! No Logo by Naomi Klein (I haven’t yet read The Shock Doctrine, but it’s on Mt TBR), Fat!So? by Marilyn Wann, and Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser form my trifecta of books that have seriously impacted by beliefs.

And then then there’s Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynn Truss, the Postsecret books by Frank Warren, A Short History of Everything by Bill Bryson. (I feel obligated as an it-getter to add I Am America (And So Can You!), but to be honest, I wouldn’t otherwise.

And probably many more I don’t own and can’t remember. Aah, books. ❤ Oh, and yes, no classics make the list. I haven’t read many yet, and none so far have really spoken to me.

