Well, I’ve finally finished Big-Box Swindle by Stacy Mitchell! (Great book, though it was a little difficult to finish. Easy reading, just dragged on a tad by the end for me.) Well, I’m convinced. I’d obviously already had a distrust of big-box/chain stores, but now it’s just solidified into the conviction that I’ll be avoiding them from now on. Perhaps not a full-out boycott yet, but fairly close to it! And that’s why today I went shopping downtown at indie stores. First stop, getting shoes (mine had actually began to disintegrate). $175 is pretty steep for Made In China sneakers in my books, but they’re vegan, bought at a local store (Not Just Pretty, which in addition to being local, is also an organic clothing store), and 99% recycled! Then, it was off to the fun purchases.

I’ve been meaning to go to Munro’s Books for a while now (the only time I went was to drop off a resume, and I obviously didn’t get the job). So I went today, with the remainder of my money. I spent about $100 on books, all but one of them from Munro’s.

  • A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’engle (hardcover, used) at Books On View for $3.99
  • A Walk In the Woods by Bill Bryson (pocket paperback) for $11.99
  • Rats: Observations by Robert Sullivan (trade) in bargain for $5.99
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke (small trade) in bargain for for $4.99
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (trade) in bargain for $5.99
  • The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to The Galaxy Original Radio Scripts (Volume 2) by Douglas Adams (trade) for $24.95
  • Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams (pocket paperback) for $8.99
  • The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams(pocket paperback) for $8.99
  • The Salmon of Doubt by Douglas Adams (pocket paperback) for $8.99

For a total of about $90 with tax. I then spent the rest of my money at Green Cuisine, a vegan buffet in Market Square (I plan to go from vegetarian to vegan starting in June). Mm, they have excellent food there.

Unfortunately, I have run out of shelf space! I’ve been using a narrow metal bookshelf by my door to keep the books I haven’t read yet, but it’s full now. My Worn Again shoebox encouraged re-use, so I used it as a mini bookshelf for my purchases today. But I guess the only long-term solution is to stop buying so many books or start reading faster!

Next book to read: a loan from L at my store. Susie Sexpert’s Lesbian Sex World by Susie Bright. Whew, that’ll be a book to hide the cover of when reading on the bus. Should be fun, though.

