Well, I got back from my trip a week and a half ago or so, I guess. I got no reading done at all, despite all the books I brought. Way too much canoeing and rain and class bonding time. (I loved the hug circle!) Oh well, it was lots of fun. Since then I did manage to finish The Metamorphosis including all the essays in the back (Well, except one). I quite liked the story, but the essays could get very strange. Just because Gregor seems to dislike his father, does that really mean he has an Oedipus complex?

In my English 12C (C is for Challenge, aka “gifted”) class, we also read “In The Penal Colony” by Franz Kafka. I enjoyed it, gore and all. So far I’m liking Kafka’s writing quite a bit. We’ll be finished the Existentialism unit in English soon, though, so I’ll have to read more of his in my own time, if I do.

I picked up a couple of holds from the library two days ago. The first is Thirst: Fighting the Corporate Theft of Our Water by Alan Snitow, Deborah Kaufman, and Michael Fox. I’m reading it now, and it’s very good so far. I’ve always been wary of water privatization, but Thirst has definitely given me some facts to back that up with. Scary stuff. The second one is Look Both Ways: Bisexual Politics by Jennifer Baumgardner. I’m excited to read this one, because I’m co-president of my school’s Friends of Dorothy (aka Gay-Straight Alliance, aka GLBTQ, aka Queer-Straight Alliance) club and we want to start a queer book club inside the group. Also, in the last/first meeting I said I wanted to look particularly at bisexual books/movies, since bisexuality is often targeted by both the gay and straight community. This should be perfect.

And today I got a call saying that another one of my holds is ready for pick-up: Big-Box Swindle: The True Cost of Mega-Retailers and the Fight For America’s Independent Businesses by Stacy Mitchell. Why do they all have to come in at once?

Yesterday I went on a used-book-buying spree! That deserves a new post!

