I thought I’d finished my book-buying for this paycheck, but I bought another little pile of books. 5 of “The Peebles Classic Library”: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Samuel L. Clemens (Mark Twain), Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe, Moby Dick by Herman Melville, and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. Only $5 each, and they look gorgeous in my opinion. I snatched them up from the antiques table that’s up for a little while in the mall I work at. L let me buy them while I was working, since it wasn’t busy. So that’s $25 in all, which isn’t too bad.

I’ve just started The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. I have to read it for English class; Ms. R is really into existentialism. Everyone else in the class seemed irritated by it, so I couldn’t concentrate, but I liked the first couple pages.

Still reading Pride and Prejudice! I’m going away for a week with my class (we’re camping/canoeing). I’m bringing Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, and Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder, though I’m not sure how much reading time I’ll get it. Better to be prepared!

